Fortnite

Inspired by some newsletter comments and resources from Chris Smith (twitter.com/aap03102) I thought I would try out some Fortnite Maths!

Based on the popular game (that most of my year 9 play), I outlined a quick task during a P5 lesson. See resource.

Interesting reaction…

And on the whole some work was completed.

Moving in to a later lesson we may have then had one of our most productive lessons ever.  Just using this as a resource:

 

Fortnite-Map2.png

We covered bearings, back bearings, scales (I made up a scale of 2.4km to 1cm on the printed sheet) and conversions. Everything measured from Tilted Towers!

My next challenge to the students is to find out the ACTUAL scale of the map I handed out. No takers yet…

 

Author: Jon Treby

Green - Star Wars - Star Trek - Harry Potter - LOTR - Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy - 80s music - Mathematics - Geek

Leave a comment

Earth Connected

A positive vision of a sustainable future

IV Words - The Progressive Perspective

the climate crisis | environment | politics | progressive causes | social justice | the way it is

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes